No single beginner step-through e-bike wins every city commute for riders who mix bike lanes, bus stops, and apartment stairs. You still need an easy mount. Roundups keep naming the Korel with a Bafang M400 mid-drive, the Velotric Discover 3, a light MiVice hub bike, and the heavier Portola. Those four are useful examples only, not a ranked podium.
A UK buyer guide may list a 250W hub bike beside a U.S. 750W commuter as if they share a class. That pairing is not an equal fight. Match the bike to your stairs, your hills, and the speed rules on your route.
So which one should you actually consider?
Why step-through frames help at urban stops
A step-through frame lets you put a foot down and swing through without hiking a leg over a high top tube. That is the point in dense traffic.
Filters that matter more than a ranking
Hydraulic discs, a ready-to-ride weight under about 25 kg (55 lb), and torque above 65 Nm keep beginners out of ugly hill starts. Stopping distance matters just as much. Confirm the live product is a true step-through. Roundup photos lag.
If you carry a bike onto a porch or a train, the 19 kg class matters more than a peak-watt boast. Ask the shop for these details in writing:
- Hydraulic disc brakes, with the caliper brand if they name one
- Weight with the battery installed, not a frame-only figure
- Motor location, torque in Nm, and whether assist cuts at 20 or 28 mph
- Battery watt-hours plus any UL 2849 or UL 2271 mark they can show
Specs as listed in buyer roundups
Treat this table as directional. The figures come from editorial roundups, not from one lab weighing every bike on the same day.
| Model | Step-through | Weight | Motor / torque | Brakes | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Korel | Yes | 24.5 kg | Bafang M400 mid-drive, 80 Nm | Shimano hydraulic disc | CyclingElectric step-through guide |
| Velotric Discover 3 | Not specified | Not listed | 750W (1100W peak), 75 Nm | Not listed | EbikeEscape commuter roundup |
| MiVice | Yes | 19 kg | 250W rear hub | Tektro hydraulic disc | CyclingElectric step-through guide |
| Portola | Not specified | About 60 lb (~27 kg) | 750W, 65 Nm | Hydraulic disc | Bicycling e-bike roundup |
Korel looks like the mid-drive city bike on paper, if you can buy that spec in your country. MiVice is the one you carry; Portola is the one that already weighs as much as a light analog bike plus a child. The Velotric frame type was not clearly labeled in the commuter write-up we could check.
What those four bikes are actually good for
The Korel in CyclingElectric's step-through roundup uses a 700C alloy frame and a Bafang M400 mid-drive rated at 80 Nm. Listed brakes are Shimano hydraulic discs. The same page lists a Suntour NEX fork, Shimano Alivio 9-speed gears, a 460Wh pack, and 24.5 kg (about 54 lb). Claimed range is 50-70 km. Mid-drives sit at the cranks and use the cassette, so hill starts feel more natural if you downshift first. Hub motors don't get that gearing.
Thing is, that write-up reads like a UK shop bike. The 460Wh pack is still a useful clue. It is not a U.S. class label. If you ride in the States, you still need the brand or importer to state Class 1 or Class 3, and whether a throttle ships on that trim.
The MiVice in the same roundup is listed as a true step-through at 19 kg (about 42 lb), with a 250W rear hub and Tektro hydraulic discs. Nineteen kilograms carries up a stoop. 250W continuous is the usual EU cap, not a U.S. marketing peak. A retitled marketplace motor is a different bike. Match the serial to the spec sheet.
EbikeEscape's commuter roundup gives the Velotric Discover 3 a 750W motor, 1100W peak, and 75 Nm of torque. It does not clearly call the frame a step-through. The Discover 3 owner's manual covers assembly, NFC unlock, and battery protection below 32 F (0 C). Use that manual and Velotric's current product page for frame shape, class, and fork travel. A review that skips the frame type is not enough.
Bicycling's electric bike roundup is where older comparison tables got the Portola figures: about 60 lb (roughly 27 kg), 750W, 65 Nm, hydraulic discs. That's already past the 25 kg line for many people who lift a bike daily. Extra mass can calm broken pavement. It also asks more of the brakes, the motor, and your back.
It's easy to treat these as one shopping list, which they're not, because a 19 kg 250W hub bike and a 60 lb 750W commuter solve different days, one is about carrying it up stairs and the other is about keeping speed on a loaded errand run, and you should pick the job first.
Test the brakes before you take a lane
Don't learn stopping distance on a wet downtown block. Hydraulic bite changes with pads, rotors, tires, and rack load.
- In an empty lot, get to a moderate assisted speed and do several hard stops from both levers.
- Repeat after ten minutes of riding so the pads have some heat in them.
- If a lever sinks, pulses, or pulls to the bar, stop riding and get the system inspected.
- Only then try a known wet patch at low speed.
- Confirm you can lift the bike onto a rack or over a curb without straining.
A 60 lb bike needs honest brake setup. A 19 kg bike can still skid the front wheel. Practice both levers.
Class 1 and Class 3 are state and city questions
The NCSL primer on state electric bicycle laws describes the three-class model a lot of U.S. states copied. Class 1 is pedal-assist that stops helping at 20 mph. Class 2 may include a throttle and still cuts assistance at 20 mph. Class 3 is pedal-assist to 28 mph and must have a speedometer. D.C. and 44 states define electric bicycles in some manner. Other states, and many cities, write narrower path rules on top.
Turns out a 750W peak number on a box does not settle legality. Some codes care about the class sticker. Some care about throttles. Park agencies sometimes ban Class 3 on shared paths. Read the city micromobility page and the state statute. If they disagree in practice, the local officer is the one who interprets it.
Stay pedal-assist if your commute uses bike lanes that forbid throttles. Speed mods can kick a bike out of Class 1 or 3.
Batteries, charging, and fire risk
Charging and storage rules change with the pack and the bike's battery management system. Copy the manual for that model.
UL 2849 tests the electrical system as a closed loop: battery, charger, controller, motor, and wiring. UL 2271 covers lithium packs used in light electric vehicles. ElectricBikes.com maps those marks in plain language. None of the roundup tables above proved a certificate for these four bikes. If the seller shrugs, that's data.
The CPSC warned consumers to stop using certain Rad Power Bikes batteries after fire reports, including packs that ignited in storage. That action is not about these four models. Check CPSC.gov for your printed battery model anyway. Skip random aftermarket chargers. Don't leave a swollen pack in a hallway.
The Discover 3 manual says the battery enters protection below 32 F (0 C) and will not charge then. Other bikes may still accept current in a freezing garage. That's a model limit, not a universal rule.
Shops still hand over a bike faster than they hand over a UL file. Get the certificate number. Get the model on the pack in a photo.
FAQ
Is the Velotric Discover 3 a true step-through?
Reviews we checked did not specify the frame. Use Velotric's product page and the owner's manual for the current geometry. Don't rely on a stock photo from a roundup.
What weight should a beginner city e-bike be?
Under about 25 kg (55 lb) is easier to lift and to restart in traffic. MiVice's listed 19 kg and Korel's 24.5 kg sit in that band. Portola's ~60 lb does not. Your stairs decide this more than a chart.
Are hydraulic brakes enough on wet city streets?
They are the right type for these weights. Wet rubber, worn pads, and a 60 lb bike still stretch stopping distance. Test in the rain in an empty lot.
Can a 750W peak motor use bike lanes?
Many Class 1 and Class 3 statutes talk about how the motor assists, not the marketing peak. City codes still vary. Ask the local bike authority and keep a copy of the class label.
Why is the real range shorter than the claim?
Assist level, rider weight, hills, wind, and temperature all cut range. Korel's listed 50-70 km is already a band, not a promise. Ignore round-number range ads unless the test protocol is published.
To be honest, a test ride on your real route beats another ranking tab. Print a spec screenshot and read your city's class rules before you put down a deposit.