There isn't one cargo e-bike that wins every daily commute, because hills, kids, grocery weight, and a throttle all pull the choice in different directions. The spec sheet will not settle it.
Can one of these three longtails replace a short car trip without making the ride miserable?
Bicycling has described the Aventon Abound LR as more polished than budget longtails such as the Lectric XPedition 2.0 and the Rad Power Rad Wagon 5. Polish is not payload. You still have to match rack ratings, wet-weather brakes, and a motor that does not fade on your steepest block.
Thing is, the published numbers do not line up. Some brands print a rear-rack limit. Others leave you hunting the manual. Treat what follows as a filter, then confirm the current spec sheet and ride the bike with weight on the deck.
The three bikes in this commute matchup
The Abound LR is Aventon's longtail cargo e-bike. Testers often talk about its shorter sibling, the Abound SR, because that mid-tail is the one written up with hydraulic disc brakes, a double kickstand, a built-in frame lock, trailer points, and a 440-pound system capacity with 143 pounds allowed on the rear rack, per Bicycling and OutdoorGearLab. The LR does not get that same payload split in those reviews. OutdoorGearLab lists a 750W hub and a 720Wh battery on the LR. Aventon's Abound LR page says that battery also fits the Abound SR, Aventure 3, Level 3, and Pace 4, which matters if you want a spare that is not an orphan. Site range is estimated for a 165-pound rider on flat pavement in Eco mode with default Ride Tune. A loaded school run is not that test.
Lectric's XPedition 2.0 is the value longtail most shoppers park next to the Abound. Ebike Escape ran a head-to-head near $1,999 and called Lectric the raw-utility choice against Aventon's more tech-driven ride. A Lectric dual-battery XPedition listing publishes a 330-pound rider limit, 30 pounds in a front basket, and 300 pounds on the rear rack. It also lists a torque sensor, an 8-speed Shimano shifter, hydraulic mineral-oil brakes with 180mm rotors, and a 1,310W peak motor. Dual packs with an isolator are claimed to reach up to 170 miles. Confirm whether the 2.0 on the floor is single or dual battery before you trust that range line.
The Rad Wagon 5 keeps showing up in the same roundups. Hard spec overlap is scarce. Bicycling treats it as another budget longtail, not as a fully scored rival. If this is the bike your dealer has in stock, ask for the current payload sticker, brake type, and battery watt-hours. Don't borrow Abound or Lectric numbers and assume they transfer.
Specs you can put side by side
Range and torque swing with load and grade. Empty cells mean the source did not publish a number, not that the bike has none.
| Model | Payload | Motor / torque | Range notes | What the source actually said |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aventon Abound LR | Not broken out in the reviews cited here | 750W hub | 720Wh pack; site estimate uses a 165 lb rider, flat pavement, Eco mode | OutdoorGearLab; Aventon product page |
| Aventon Abound SR (related mid-tail) | 440 lb system, 143 lb rear rack | 750W hub, 87Nm | About 60 miles in one editorial test | Bicycling; OutdoorGearLab |
| Lectric XPedition 2.0 / dual-battery XPedition | Dual-battery page: 330 lb rider, 300 lb rear rack, 30 lb front basket | Torque sensor; 1,310W peak on that listing | Dual pack claimed up to 170 miles | Lectric product page; Ebike Escape for price context |
| Rad Power Rad Wagon 5 | Not specified in these sources | Not specified | Not specified | Grouped as a budget longtail by Bicycling |
| Tern GSD (reference, not a price match) | Not specified here | Bosch Cargo Line, 85Nm | One test: 30 miles with 35% battery left | CyclingElectric; GearJunkie |
Read that grid as a map, not a ranking
Those rows are not a scorecard. A missing payload cell is a reason to open the manual, not a reason to pick a winner.
Payload, kids, and how the weight sits
Cargo commuting fails at the rack sticker more often than at the motor. A 440-pound system rating on the Abound SR includes the rider. The 143-pound rear figure is the number that matters for a child seat plus panniers. Lectric's dual-battery page splits rider, rear rack, and front basket, which is easier to plan around. The Abound LR still needs Aventon's current limit in writing, because those magazine tables did not publish it.
You start adding the kid, then the seat, then the backpack that never made it onto the scale, and suddenly the number that looked generous on a product page is tight, tighter than you expected when you were only counting rider plus a couple of grocery bags. Front baskets are capped low for a reason. 30 pounds up front is groceries, not a second child.
Walk through this before money changes hands:
- Confirm the rear-rack rating on the frame or in the owner's manual, not on a blog table.
- Add rider, passengers, seats, and cargo, then leave margin. Wet clothes count. So does a full water bottle.
- Ask which child seats, rails, and trailer hitches the brand actually approves. Those parts are not universal.
- Recheck tire pressure and brake pad life once the bike is loaded.
Motors, sensors, and the hill on your commute
OutdoorGearLab puts 750W hubs on the Abound LR and SR, and those motors are described as hitting 20 mph on throttle or 25 mph with pedal assist. Hub motors stay simple to live with. They also park extra weight at the wheel, which you feel when the deck is already heavy. The SR is listed at 87Nm.
Lectric's dual-battery page advertises a torque sensor and 1,310W peak. Ebike Escape described a short boost that delivered a 30-second, 120% surge on a climb. That's a reviewer note on one bike, not a lab certificate. Cadence-only systems can feel laggy when you roll away from a light with a loaded longtail. Torque sensing usually tracks pressure on the pedals more closely. Ebike Escape's brand comparison notes that several affordable cargo bikes now offer switchable torque and cadence modes, without making every SKU identical.
Turns out the hill you actually ride is the test. A Bosch Cargo Line at 85Nm on a Tern GSD is a useful mid-drive benchmark, not a reason to skip the three bikes in the title. Mid-drives cost more. They also service differently. Flat commutes care less about peak watts than about smooth power at 12 mph in a bike lane.
Loads cut speed. Match the motor to the steepest block you cannot avoid. A dealer parking-lot loop will not show that.
Brakes, kickstands, and seeing traffic
Stopping a longtail with groceries should decide the purchase if two bikes feel similar on a flat path. The Abound SR is called out for hydraulic discs and a double kickstand that keeps a loaded bike from tipping at a curb. Lectric's dual-battery listing pairs hydraulic mineral-oil calipers with 180mm rotors. Rad Wagon 5 brake hardware is not described in the same sources, so treat it as unknown until you see the bike.
Tern's GSD is often praised for Bosch ABS discs and a 1,500-lumen light. That's a different price class. It shows what loaded braking equipment can look like. Your model may not include ABS. Check the manual for wet-weather and loaded stopping notes, because pad compound and rotor size vary by bike.
Lights and a bell are not extras on a cargo commute. CPSC micromobility guidance tells riders to use reflectors, headlamps, and a bell or horn, to slow down, and to avoid abrupt moves. Follow local traffic laws. Report a swollen pack, a bad charger, or a recall on SaferProducts.gov.
Kickstands sound boring until you load a child. Ebike Escape spent real space on the kickstand fight between the XPedition and the Abound LR. A wobbly single leg on a 40-pound grocery run is a dropped bike. Ask to stand the floor model with weight on the rear deck.
Range on a real grocery loop
Aventon's 60-mile Abound SR figure comes from an editorial test, not from your stop-and-go loop. GearJunkie recorded a Tern covering 30 miles with 35% battery still left, under 1% per mile in that ride. Efficient. Still not your commute.
Expect drops with kids, headwinds, and hills. Aventon is explicit that its published max range assumes a light rider, pavement, Eco mode, and default Ride Tune. Cold weather steals more. Soft tires steal more. Dual-battery Lectric claims run as high as 170 miles on that product page. Those miles assume the packs drain together and you ride gently. Plan a round-trip with reserve. Don't plan a full drain.
Aventon's connected features such as GPS and remote shutdown need a paid 4G subscription after the first year. That does not add range. It may matter if you lock up outside a store every afternoon.
Charging and storage advice is model-specific. Use the pack and charger that shipped with the bike. Skip random aftermarket chargers. If CPSC or the brand posts a recall, follow that notice.
Path access and class labels
U.S. e-bike access is not one rule. Cities and states set class limits, throttle rules, and whether a longtail may use a given path. Wired has noted that extras such as foot pegs can get a cargo e-bike barred from some facilities. Verify with the agency that manages your trail.
Throttle bikes that assist to 20 mph are often sold as Class 2. Pedal assist to 25 mph is a different class in many states. OutdoorGearLab's 20 mph throttle / 25 mph assist note on the Abound hubs is a performance claim. It is not a permit. Ask the dealer how the bike is labeled for your state, and whether the limiter is locked.
The legal homework is dull, to be honest, and it still saves a ticket. Print the local class definition. Carry it if your path has rangers.
A dealer test that actually stresses the bike
Do this on one Saturday instead of three unstructured demos.
- Weigh your typical load: rider, child seat if any, and a crate of water jugs that matches grocery weight.
- Ride the steepest nearby block in the assist level you'd use at 8 a.m., then again with the throttle if the bike has one.
- Make an emergency stop on dry pavement from neighborhood speed. Repeat if the shop will let you mist the rims. Watch how the rear stays planted.
- Park on a slope with the load aboard. Use the kickstand and, if fitted, the frame lock.
- Ask for the payload sticker, brake spec, battery watt-hours, charger model, and any electrical-system paperwork they have on file.
- Sit with the owner's manual for five minutes. Confirm child-seat and trailer compatibility before you put money down.
If the shop will not let you add weight, walk. A cargo bike that only feels fine empty is not a commute tool.
FAQ
What is the payload gap between the Abound LR and SR? The SR is specified at 440 pounds total with 143 pounds on the rear rack in Bicycling's coverage. The LR figure was not detailed in those same write-ups. Get Aventon's current LR limit from the manual.
Is the Lectric XPedition 2.0 enough for daily use? Reviewers treat it as a user-friendly budget longtail next to the more polished Abound LR. The dual-battery listing's 300-pound rear rack and hydraulic brakes are the practical arguments. Fit and kickstand behavior still need a ride.
Will range hold up with kids or groceries? Not at the brochure number. Editorial figures such as 60 miles on the Abound SR fall once the deck is heavy. Build your commute around a conservative round-trip.
Are these legal on every bike path? No. Access is local. Foot pegs and class labels can block a path even when the bike is street-legal. Check the municipality or trail manager.
How do I check braking for my load? Use the manufacturer manual for that model. Hydraulic discs on the Abound SR and on Lectric's dual-battery XPedition are a starting point, not a guarantee at maximum payload. ABS on a Tern GSD is a different system.
Should I chase torque or battery size for hills? Torque (87Nm on the Abound SR, 85Nm on the Tern GSD's Bosch Cargo Line) is what you feel on a grade. Battery size keeps that assist from dying mid-week. Test both on your hill.
Take the two finalists to a dealer with your real cargo. Ride the same loop back to back. Buy the one that stops and stands the way you need, then re-read the payload page before the first school run.