">

Best Electric Scooters for Commuting by Range

Most 3-9 mile commutes don't need an adventure scooter. What they need is battery left over after hills, wind, and a heavier bag, plus a deck that doesn't hammer your wrists. Distance decides the fit. So do overpasses and rain. Are you buying range you'll never use, or cutting it so close you'll walk home?

The Segway Ninebot Max G2 is the long-range pick at about $800. It's rated for 43 miles, runs hydraulic front suspension, and rolls on self-healing tires. Real money, that. The NIU KQi3 Pro sits at $599-$699 and lists 31 miles with a 20% hill-grade claim. Apollo City 2024 is the faster wet-weather option, with a 32 mph top speed and IP66 sealing. The Gotrax G6, $495, covers shorter urban hops with 25-35 miles and full suspension.

Brochure miles assume a perfect day. Plan around the drop.

Rated range vs a real commute

Manufacturer tests usually mean flat ground, a rider around 150 pounds, moderate speed, no wind, and warm weather. City routes almost never look like that. For a 5-mile one-way trip, aim for at least 20 miles of rated range so a 10-mile round trip still has margin after a 20-40% real-world cut. That's the buffer, not luxury.

A simple 2x rule works for most people. Take your round-trip distance and double it in rated miles. A 6-mile round trip wants 12+ on the spec sheet, and 20+ feels safer with hills or winter mornings. Turns out the Max G2's 43-mile rating still looks generous after that haircut, which is why 6-9 mile legs are its sweet spot. Leftover miles, plenty of them. The G6's 25-35 mile window fits 3-5 mile one-ways, assuming you charge at home every night.

And if you've ever watched the percentage fall faster on a cold Monday than it did on a warm Saturday, and then stood there wondering whether you should have bought the 43-mile pack instead of the cheaper one, you're not misreading the display, you're watching the same 20-40% gap the spec sheet never shows. Riders well above the 150-pound test weight often see 10-35% less range. Sport mode and steep blocks burn more than eco on flat pavement. Cold packs are worse.

What actually smooths a city ride

Small wheels transmit every seam in the asphalt. Hydraulic front suspension soaks potholes better than a cheap spring, and the Max G2's fork is the example here. The G2 pairs a hydraulic damper up front with a dual-spring rear, which helps on speed bumps and cobbles. The Gotrax G6 does the budget version of the same idea with full suspension. It still helps. Apollo's City 2024 uses three springs, front and rear, with more travel and rubber damping.

Tires do half the work.

Dual brakes, disc or drum, matter in mixed traffic. Segway's Max G2 product manual cites a test where braking distance is no longer than 6 m (19.7 ft) from 20 km/h (12.4 mph). Urban flow usually runs 15-20 mph. The G2 is listed at 22 mph. Apollo City 2024 hits 32 mph, which only matters if your streets and local rules allow it. Speed limits for scooters are set by city and state, not by the spec sheet. Confirm yours before you shop for a 32 mph machine.

The NIU KQi3 Pro's 20% grade claim is the one hill number on this list. Steep overpass on your route? Weight that axis. Other models don't publish a matching grade here, so don't assume they climb the same.

How four commuter scooters stack up

Same four scooters, one grid. Specs below are manufacturer-rated under ideal conditions. Expect 20-40% less range in mixed city use. Blank cells mean this comparison didn't have a matching public number.

Scooter Best for Rated range (miles) Price Top speed (mph) Ride and weather notes
Segway Ninebot Max G2 Long range and comfort 43 $800 22 Hydraulic front / dual-spring rear; self-healing tires; IPX5
NIU KQi3 Pro Value and hills 31 $599-$699 Not specified Spring suspension; tubeless pneumatic; 20% grade
Apollo City 2024 Speed and rain Not specified Not specified 32 Multi-spring suspension; 10-inch tubeless with puncture gel; IP66
Gotrax G6 Short trips on a budget 25-35 $495 Not specified Full suspension

The G2 leads on published range and the most detailed ride hardware. NIU undercuts it on price and is the only one here with a 20% grade figure. Apollo is the weather and speed outlier. Gotrax is the entry ticket for short, flatter commutes. To be honest, the column you actually need is the one that should decide this. Range and a hydraulic front end aren't free.

Match the scooter to your route

  1. Measure one-way distance on the path you'll actually ride, including the detour around a closed sidewalk.
  2. Double that round trip and treat the result as your minimum rated range. Add more if you weigh over 150 pounds, ride in winter, or face a long climb.
  3. Note the steepest grade and whether you ride in rain. A 20% overpass points at the KQi3 Pro. Regular rain points at IP66 on the Apollo City 2024, not at a splash-resistant deck.
  4. Check the local speed cap. Many U.S. cities sit in the 15-20 mph band. A 32 mph scooter doesn't change that rule.
  5. Test ride if you can. Deck height, stem shake, and brake feel don't show up in a table.

For 3-5 mile one-ways, the Gotrax G6's 25-35 miles and full suspension can cover a round trip after the usual drop, especially with overnight charging. Cruise control on the G6 holds a steady pace on long flats. For 6-9 miles, the NIU's 31 miles and hill claim, or the G2's 43 miles and hydraulic front end, are the more realistic pair. If your streets are chewed up, I'd rather have the G2's suspension than save $200 and feel every joint.

A budget over $700 plus regular rain is why people look at Apollo's IP66 rating and 32 mph top end. You still need a range number from the seller. This comparison doesn't have a matching Apollo range figure. Don't guess it.

Charging, rain, and battery limits that differ by model

Thing is, a commuter scooter's battery is the part that fails loudly if you treat every model the same. The U.S. CPSC proposed micromobility battery standard points e-scooters toward UL 2272-24 performance requirements, with modifications the agency says are still needed. That rule was not final as of the June 24, 2026 notice. The public comment window ran through August 24, 2026. It's a U.S. federal proposal, not a city riding law. It doesn't replace your owner's manual.

The Max G2 is not an IP66 scooter. Segway's manual lists IPX5, an operating range of 14-104 F (-10-40 C), and charging only between 32-104 F (0-40 C). The pack is 15.3 Ah / 551 Wh, with a BMS covering over-heating, short circuit, over-current, over-discharge, and over-charge. Nominal motor power is 450 W, peak 1 kW. Charge it indoors on the included charger, inside that temperature window, on a hard surface you can see. Apollo's IP66 claim is a different sealing level. It still isn't a submarine. Wet connectors and chargers don't mix, on any of these.

One habit worth borrowing: keep lithium-ion away from the 0% and 100% edges, the so-called 20-80% daily band. But follow the specific model's chemistry and charger instructions first, because storage and charge limits vary. Don't leave a depleted pack in a freezing garage overnight and expect the same miles in the morning. Segway also lists storage at 14-122 F (-10-50 C), with 50-86 F (10-30 C) recommended. That's model-specific. Don't copy it onto a different pack.

Apollo's City product page also highlights 10-inch tubeless tires with puncture gel and a multi-spring layout. Ride hardware, not a fire rating. If electrical safety matters to you, look for current UL 2272 certification on the unit you buy, and never swap in a no-name charger.

Common questions

What range do I need for a 5-mile commute? Aim for 20+ miles rated so a 10-mile round trip survives a 20-40% drop.

How much do real miles shrink versus the box? Often 20-40%. Hills, wind, extra weight, sport mode, and cold are the usual reasons. Near freezing can be worse.

Is hydraulic suspension worth it? On broken pavement, yes. The G2's hydraulic front fork is the clearest case in this group. Springs still beat a rigid stem.

What's the budget option under $500? The Gotrax G6 at $495, with 25-35 miles and full suspension. It's for shorter, flatter trips, not 9-mile hills.

Can they climb a 20% grade? The NIU KQi3 Pro is the model that claims it. Don't assume the others match that without a published grade.

Can I ride the Max G2 in daily rain? It's IPX5, not IP66. Light splash isn't the same as a sealed Apollo City 2024. Self-healing tires help with punctures, not with water in the electronics. Dry it off, skip deep puddles, charge only when the port is dry.

Measure the route you actually ride, hill included, detours too. Then stand on the deck at a shop if you can. Stem flex and brake bite are personal things, and a table won't feel them for you.