">

Budget Folding Bikes: Lectric XP4 vs Brompton vs Tern

One folding bike can be perfect for Monday and wrong for Tuesday. The route picks the bike. Not the spec sheet.

If your commute chains a train, a bus, and a third-floor walk-up, folded size and weight beat motor watts. Hills flip the math. A long climb you don't want to walk soaked? The Lectric XP4 gets interesting. Base is $999. Long-range is $1,299. Brompton and Tern solve another problem. They fold small, fit tight spaces, and run on legs alone. No powered assist in the picture.

Start With Your Worst Ten Minutes

The worst ten minutes of your commute pick the bike. Not the motor. Not the range. I mean the stairwell, the train doorway, the bus rack, the office closet where the thing lives all day. Write those constraints down before you open a spec sheet.

A folder that collapses in 10 seconds is worthless if it won't fit the rack. A 62-pound e-bike is a joy on the road and a misery on a staircase. Measure first. Shop second.

Comparison Table: Folding Commuter Specs

Here's the side-by-side. One caveat before the numbers: manufacturers don't publish everything, so expect gaps.

Model Price (est.) Folded size Weight Motor and torque Source notes
Lectric XP4 Base $999 Not specified 62 lbs without battery 500W rear hub (1,092W peak), 55Nm, 10.4Ah Lectric XP4 page
Lectric XP4 Long Range $1,299 Not specified 62 lbs without battery 750W rear hub (1,310W peak), 85Nm, 17.5Ah Lectric long-range page, Electric Bike Report
Brompton Not specified 3.6 cubic feet Varies by trim; light models near 28 lbs, G Line 42.9 lbs in one comparison N/A (pedal bike) Bicycling, brand comparison
Tern BYB P10 Not specified 10-second fold claim; 30% smaller than mid-folds Not specified Varies by model Bicycling
K-Feather Not specified 25.3 x 23 x 10.6 inches 28 lbs in one roundup Not specified Electric Bike Report
Dahon Mariner D8 Not specified Not specified Not specified Pedal bike, 8-speed Wirecutter

Empty cells mean the source didn't list the figure. They don't mean the spec doesn't exist. Prices drift. Trims change. The manufacturer page is the only place to verify before you buy.

Folding Speed and Real Portability

Brompton folds in three places and lands at 3.6 cubic feet in about 30 unhurried seconds. Tern claims a 10-second fold. The BYB P10 gets described as 30% smaller than mid-folds. K-Feather's folded package measures 25.3 x 23 x 10.6 inches.

Useful numbers. Turns out, a quick fold leaving the seat post hanging high isn't quick anymore once you factor in resetting it every single time. Weight ends up mattering more than speed the moment a staircase appears, which it will.

The XP4 weighs 62 pounds without the battery. It's not a daily carry-upstairs bike for most riders. Brompton's light trims come in near 28 pounds. The G Line hits 42.9. Model choice shifts the math more than brand choice does. If your route includes a turnstile hop or a carry through a crowded platform, buy the lightest folder that still handles the rest of the trip.

Power, Range, and Hill Reality

The base XP4 runs a 500W rear hub motor with 1,092W peak output, 55Nm of torque, and a 10.4Ah battery. Step up to the long-range trim and you get 750W, 1,310W peak, 85Nm, and a 17.5Ah pack. Lectric claims up to 85 miles on the long-range model. Treat that as a ceiling, not a promise.

Range falls with rider weight, hills, cold weather, throttle use, and how much you actually pedal. One review pegs a conservative commuter at roughly 25-40 miles on the 10.4Ah pack and 45-80 on the 17.5Ah Reviewing Electric Bicycles.

Torque helps on grades. It doesn't drag you up the hill by itself, because gearing and rider weight still decide whether a climb feels easy. Lectric says five riding modes let the XP4 operate as a Class 1, 2, or 3 e-bike. Brakes deserve attention on a bike this heavy: Lectric lists 602 hydraulic brakes with 180mm rotors on the XP4. Brompton and Tern lean on your legs instead, which keeps them simpler and lighter, and leaves no motor to flatten a hill.

Budget and Component Tradeoffs

The two XP4 trims anchor the budget side of this comparison at $999 and $1,299. A pedal folder costs less up front and less to maintain. You pay for that in effort. Dahon's Mariner D8 carries 8-speed shifting, which helps on varied terrain Wirecutter. E-bikes bring battery replacement cost, a charging routine, and extra weight to store and haul.

Thing is, $999 stops looking cheap once you add a rack, fenders, lights, and maybe a second charger. Budget e-bikes also tend to depreciate faster, which is just normal at lower starting prices brand comparison. Tally all of that before you decide. A short, flat commute probably favors the lighter pedal folder on pure cost. A long, hilly one, or any ride where you arrive sweaty, is where the motor earns its keep.

Battery Safety and Certification

UL 2849 tests the whole electrical system: battery pack, charger, motor controller, and how they interact under stress UL. UL 2271 covers lithium battery packs used in light electric vehicles battery certification explainer. Lectric says the XP4 battery is certified to UL 2271. The CPSC has called on manufacturers of e-bikes and other battery-powered products to comply with established voluntary safety standards CPSC.

Ask for certification details before money changes hands on any folding e-bike. Charging and storage rules vary by model and battery chemistry, so the manual wins over any generic advice, including this one. Don't charge a damaged pack. Don't use a charger that isn't matched to the bike. If a battery runs hot, swells, or smells odd, stop using it and get professional help.

Rules, Classes, and Transit

Rules shift by city, state, and transit agency. A Class 3 bike can be banned where a Class 1 is allowed. Some trains want a cover on the bike or restrict e-bikes at peak hours. Pedal folders usually face fewer restrictions, but usually isn't always. Check the local vehicle code and the transit operator's published policy before you build a daily connection around any folder.

The class label matters because the same motor can be capped at different speeds. Lectric says the XP4 can operate in Class 1, 2, or 3 modes. Not every path or train accepts all three. If you commute across jurisdictions, carry the manufacturer spec sheet. It makes the conversation easier.

Setup and Maintenance Checklist

Run through this before buying, then again your first week.

  1. Measure your tightest storage spot, train rack, and elevator. Folded-size claims don't always include pedals or handlebars.
  2. Weigh the bike as you'll carry it. On e-bikes, check with and without the battery.
  3. Inspect hinges, latches, and quick releases before every ride. Stop riding if a hinge feels loose or sticks.
  4. Test the brakes loaded. Hydraulic discs with 180mm rotors appear on XP4 models, but brake type and pad wear vary by model.
  5. Check battery certification and charging instructions. UL 2271 and UL 2849 are useful reference points.
  6. Confirm local e-bike class rules and transit policies.
  7. Budget for cables, brake pads, tires, and battery care.

FAQ

Is the Lectric XP4 good for flat commutes?

It'll do the job, but it's heavy. The motor earns its keep on longer flat rides. For a short, flat hop, a lighter Brompton or Tern is simpler to carry and store.

Do I need UL certification on a folding e-bike?

Not every jurisdiction requires it. It's still a useful safety check. UL 2849 covers the full electrical system; UL 2271 covers the battery pack. The CPSC has pushed manufacturers toward established safety standards, and local rules decide whether certification is mandatory where you ride.

Brompton or Tern for train commuting?

Brompton folds to 3.6 cubic feet. Tern's BYB P10 is described as 30% smaller than mid-folds. Either can work on a train. Whether it actually works depends on the rack, the car, and the time of day, so test the folded package if you can.

Can I carry a 62-pound folding e-bike upstairs?

Some riders manage it. Most won't want to do it daily. The XP4 is 62 pounds without the battery, and that number is the whole answer. If stairs are part of your commute, look at a lighter pedal folder or ground-floor storage.

Are budget folding e-bikes safe?

They can be. Safety comes down to certification, assembly, brakes, and how well the bike gets maintained. Buy from a seller that provides battery certification details, follow the manual on charging and storage, and check local rules before riding paths or transit.

Pick the bike that solves your worst ten minutes, and let everything else follow from that. Write down folded size, weight, price, battery certification, and your local rules. Then check the Lectric, Brompton, Tern, K-Feather, and Dahon pages for current specs, take a test ride if one's nearby, and if it isn't, buy from a seller with a clear return policy.