Can a six-foot rider actually fit on either bike? Right now, nobody has proved that either one fits.
DAHON gives the K-Feather a published 12 kg weight. The Lectric XP 4 has more reported gearing and motor detail, but its listings disagree.
Fit remains unverified for both. The uncertainty matters most for riders around 6 feet or taller.
Treat this as a verification exercise, not a winner-takes-all shootout. Check the exact model, market, and product revision before trusting any listed wattage, seat height, or folded measurement.
What the available specs actually say
The published numbers do not line up neatly. Lectric's specifications conflict across listings, while the K-Feather offers a clearer weight and electrical specification but very little information about fit.
Start with the Lectric XP 4 product page. Confirm which version your market actually sells. For the K-Feather, compare the current DAHON K-Feather product page with the Electric Bike Report K-Feather review.
| Model | Weight | Motor and battery | Gearing | Folded size | Tall-rider evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Lectric XP 4 | Not reported in the reviewed sources | One listing reports a 500W rear hub motor, 1,092W peak output, and 55 Nm of torque. A separate listing reports 750W, 1,310W peak, and 85 Nm. A 10.4Ah battery is listed in the Electric Bike Report comparison. | 8-speed Shimano Acera with an 11-32T cassette in the comparison data | 37 in L x 17 in W x 29 in H in published listings | One retailer lists saddle-to-ground adjustment from 29.5 to 42 inches. No confirmed standover or maximum rider height is provided. |
| DAHON K-Feather | 12 kg, or about 26.5 lb, on the official page | 24V, 250W rear motor, 5Ah battery, 120Wh calculated capacity, and maximum output torque of 32 Nm | Single-speed with one assist level, according to the review | Not stated in the reviewed official and editorial sources | The bike uses a 16-inch frame and wheels. No confirmed standover, reach, or maximum rider height is provided. |
Those XP4 figures need a closer look. One published XP4 listing reports a 500W motor, 1,092W peak output, and 55 Nm of torque. Another retailer listing reports 750W, 1,310W peak output, and 85 Nm.
The difference could come from a product revision, a regional version, or a stale page. Lectric needs to settle the matter for the exact bike you plan to buy.
Folded measurements have a similar problem. The earlier comparison included a measurement of 25.3 in H x 23 in W x 10.6 in D, but it belonged to an unnamed folding bike. Assigning that figure to either model would be wrong.
Tall-rider fit is still the missing piece
Fit cannot be read from saddle height alone. Leg extension, bar reach, bar height, and mounting clearance all affect the riding position.
A saddle can reach a listed height while the pedals remain poorly positioned and the bars still feel too close, so the number looks useful but leaves much of the actual fit unanswered. The number is only a starting point.
Look closely at the XP4's reported 29.5-to-42-inch range. It measures from the saddle to the ground. It does not measure standover height or show how far the saddle sits above the pedals.
Turns out, 32 inches is not a universal tall-rider pass mark. Standover is a clearance check, not a target height. A low step-through area can suit a tall rider if the saddle and cockpit adjust far enough.
Wheel size does not settle the question either. The K-Feather uses a 16-inch frame and wheels, which creates a compact folding format. That does not prove the frame is too small. It also does not prove that a long-legged rider will be comfortable.
Ask each manufacturer for the following information:
- Standover height at the point where you actually mount.
- Saddle height measured from the pedal axle or bottom bracket.
- Minimum and maximum seatpost position.
- Handlebar height and reach from the saddle.
- Maximum rider weight and the correct seatpost limit.
The seatpost marking matters more than many riders expect. Never raise it past the minimum-insertion line to chase extra legroom.
Your inseam gives you the best starting measurement. Measure it in the riding shoes you plan to wear. Then compare it with the manufacturer's saddle-to-pedal range.
A test ride should include one more check. After raising the saddle, see whether the handlebars feel too close. That reach problem can be easy to miss during a short parking-lot ride.
Carrying, storage, and public transit
Weight is the clearest point of separation in the available evidence. DAHON lists the K-Feather at 12 kg, and the independent review recorded about 26.4 lb on a scale.
To be honest, that makes the K-Feather the easier candidate for stairs and frequent lifting. The XP4 has no confirmed weight in the reviewed material. Ask for the number.
The XP4 does have published folded measurements. Listings give about 37 in long, 17 in wide, and 29 in high. Treat those as listing data until Lectric confirms them for your version.
The K-Feather's folded footprint remains unknown in the reviewed official and editorial sources. Request its packed length, width, and height instead of guessing from the 16-inch wheel size.
A folded bike rarely presents only its main frame dimensions. The hinge, handlebar, pedals, or seatpost can create the widest or tallest point. Measure the complete bike in its actual folded position, then compare that shape with the closet, locker, car trunk, or transit space where it will go.
The listed figure and the real-world footprint are not the same thing. Measure both.
The K-Feather review describes its battery as non-removable. If that applies to your version, the complete bike has to reach the charger. That can be a real problem in an apartment when the storage area has no outlet.
Transit rules vary by agency. A folded bike may fit physically and still be restricted during crowded periods, on certain vehicles, or unless it is folded and covered. Read the bicycle policy for your agency before treating either bike as a daily bus or rail solution.
Motor, gearing, and battery differences
The K-Feather's electrical system is modest. DAHON lists a 24V, 250W rear motor and a 5Ah battery.
Voltage multiplied by amp-hours gives an estimated 120Wh. That matches the review data.
DAHON advertises up to 40 km of range. That is a manufacturer claim. Rider weight, wind, terrain, assist use, tire pressure, and temperature can all change the result.
The review describes the K-Feather as a Class 1 model with an advertised 16 mph maximum and one assist level. Those details apply to the version described by the review.
The XP4 comparison data lists an 8-speed Shimano Acera drivetrain with an 11-32T cassette. Extra gears can help a rider maintain a comfortable cadence during starts, on slopes, and across flatter roads.
Its reported motor output is also higher than the K-Feather's. The problem is that the XP4 listings disagree, so no single motor figure is settled.
Thing is, amp-hours alone do not make a fair battery comparison. The XP4's reported 10.4Ah figure cannot be converted into watt-hours without a confirmed nominal voltage.
Ask Lectric for the XP4 battery's voltage and watt-hour rating. Then compare that figure with the K-Feather's calculated 120Wh.
One XP4 listing also describes five riding modes and Class 1, 2, or 3 configurations. Local law, the configuration delivered to you, and the bike's actual settings determine where and how you may ride. A mode label on a product page is not a nationwide legal determination.
Which bike fits each use case?
The useful choice depends on the job the bike must do. The available evidence supports different directions, not a universal winner.
| Your priority | Evidence-based direction | What you still need to verify |
|---|---|---|
| Carrying up stairs often | The K-Feather has the only clearly published low weight at about 26.5 lb. | Its folded footprint, battery-removal status for your version, and handlepost security. |
| More drivetrain range | The XP4 listing includes an 8-speed drivetrain, while the K-Feather is single-speed. | Whether the current XP4 sold to you has those same components. |
| Tall-rider comfort | Neither bike has confirmed maximum height, standover, or complete geometry data. | Saddle-to-pedal range, reach, bar height, standover, and a test ride. |
| Tight storage | The XP4 has a reported folded size. | Confirmation from Lectric and the K-Feather's actual folded measurements. |
| Simple lightweight errands | The K-Feather's weight and single-speed layout support that use. | Whether the lower-power system suits your hills, distance, and cargo. |
| Longer or hillier rides | The XP4 has more reported motor and gearing detail. | Correct motor, battery watt-hours, total weight, and real-world range for your version. |
Your stairs matter. So does your route, storage space, and body geometry.
A practical pre-purchase verification workflow
Work through this process before paying for either bike.
- Open the exact manufacturer page for the model and region you plan to buy. Save the current specification sheet or manual if one exists.
- Ask support for the maximum rider weight, standover height, saddle-to-pedal range, reach, handlebar height, folded dimensions, and complete bike weight with the battery installed.
- Measure your inseam in your riding shoes. Sit on a bike that already feels comfortable, note its saddle height, and record whether you prefer an upright or forward-leaning position.
- Compare the measurements without crossing any seatpost or handlepost insertion marks. Check knee extension first, then reach and wrist comfort.
- Fold and carry the bike if you can. Lift it through a doorway, turn it in a hallway, and set it down in the storage space you will actually use.
- Before paying, confirm the battery location, whether the battery can be removed, the supplied charger, replacement-battery availability, and service support.
- Check your transit agency's current bicycle policy for the routes you ride. Keep the folded dimensions and that policy together in your purchase notes.
A proper demo should include a full stop, a slow turn, and a restart on an incline if the shop allows it. Set the saddle for your body first.
Folding bikes can feel different once the saddle is raised. Riders often judge them at a low showroom setting, which is exactly backwards. Raise the seat, then decide whether the reach and control position work.
Safety and maintenance checks
Inspect the folding latch, hinge area, handlepost, and seatpost before every ride. The bike should lock into its riding position without looseness or an uncertain latch.
Check the brakes, tires, wheels, and controls too. Follow the manual for tire pressure, brake adjustment, torque values, and folding-hinge inspection.
Do not adopt a blanket three-month lubrication interval. Hinge designs vary, and approved lubricants vary with them. If the manual permits dry PTFE or another lubricant, use it sparingly on the specified pivot and keep it away from brake rotors and pads.
Battery care also depends on the exact pack and the manufacturer's instructions. Use the supplied or manufacturer-approved charger. Do not open or modify the pack.
Stop using the battery if you notice swelling, unusual heat, smoke, or a strong chemical odor. Move it away from combustible storage, then contact the manufacturer or local emergency service for the appropriate next step.
If a seller mentions UL 2849, verify that the claim applies to the exact complete-bike model. A retailer statement is not the same as documented certification. A separately sold battery may have a different standard or listing.
FAQ
Is the K-Feather better for a rider who is 6 feet tall?
The available evidence does not establish that. Its 16-inch frame and low weight describe the format, not the rider-height range. Get the saddle-to-pedal, reach, standover, and maximum rider-weight figures first.
Does the XP4's 42-inch seat measurement prove tall-rider fit?
No. That measurement runs from the saddle to the ground. It does not show standover clearance, leg extension from the pedal axle, or handlebar reach.
Can I compare the XP4's 10.4Ah battery with the K-Feather's 5Ah battery?
Not fairly from amp-hours alone. The K-Feather's 24V and 5Ah figures indicate about 120Wh. You need the XP4's confirmed voltage or watt-hour rating for a direct capacity comparison.
Which bike is easier to carry?
The K-Feather is the only model with a clearly published weight in the reviewed data, at about 26.5 lb. The XP4's weight remains unconfirmed, so the available evidence does not support a direct carry ranking.
Will either bike fit on public transit?
The XP4 has reported folded dimensions. The K-Feather's dimensions were not confirmed in the reviewed sources. Physical fit is only one issue, since each transit agency sets its own rules.
Should I lubricate the folding hinge every three months?
Not automatically. Use the model's manual to find the approved lubricant and schedule. Keep all lubricant away from braking surfaces.
Before you place the order
Email the manufacturer with your height, inseam, intended riding posture, and storage measurements. Ask for a written answer covering saddle-to-pedal range, standover, reach, folded size, total weight, battery removal, and maximum rider weight.
If either company cannot provide those fit measurements, treat the bike as unverified for tall-rider use. A test ride with the saddle correctly adjusted is the sensible next step.
Do that before relying on wheel size, motor wattage, or a saddle-to-ground number.